PDA

View Full Version : Australian Catch-up TV via Android

Armacdee
07-26-2013, 05:37 AM
I am new to Android and have just installed an Android TV-stick. While I can access many sites and features through the browser and XBMC, I have had very little success accessing the Australian Catch-up TV sites through this device. Browser access through my PC is fine.
I can't locate working XBMC Add-ons for these sites and browser access (standard browser and Google Chrome) either won't play video, or fails with a message stating "not yet supported for my device type".
Can anyone guide me to working XBMC Add-ins for these sites?
Is there a compatible Android browser that will appear like a standard PC connection to these sites and support the protocols and video codecs required?

01tv
07-26-2013, 07:06 PM
All those catchup services use flash player which should be supported on your android (depending on version). However some catchup networks can detect if your outputting to a tv and stop it. So we need to know more details about your stick and the version of android running..

ben10
07-26-2013, 07:18 PM
Im not sure about the technical side of things but a quick tip to make these sites work is goto the catch-up tv website then click in the top menu and mark the request desktop site button. Then your android will load the normal webpage rather than a mobile version.

delbutty
07-26-2013, 07:23 PM
It looks like your device does not support flash player yet, you can try installing mx player app for android and see if that helps.

Armacdee
07-26-2013, 11:38 PM
Thanks 01tv, ben10 and delbutty for your replies, they are all well appreciated.
My device is a Minix Neo G4 running 4.1.1.
I installed Firefox and Flash yesterday while trying to sort this out. It resulted in access to some of the sites, but not all, so I suspect 01tv's comments to be spot-on.
I'm pretty sure I have mx-player loaded and it didn't help, but will double check that and report back.