Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Australian Catch-up TV via Android

Australian Catch-up TV via Android

I am new to Android and have just installed an Android TV-stick. While I can access many sites and features through the browser and XBMC, I have had very little success accessing the Australian Catch-up TV sites through this device. Browser access through my PC is fine.
    I can't locate working XBMC Add-ons for these sites and browser access (standard browser and Google Chrome) either won't play video, or fails with a message stating "not yet supported for my device type".
    Can anyone guide me to working XBMC Add-ins for these sites?
    Is there a compatible Android browser that will appear like a standard PC connection to these sites and support the protocols and video codecs required?

All those catchup services use flash player which should be supported on your android (depending on version). However some catchup networks can detect if your outputting to a tv and stop it. So we need to know more details about your stick and the version of android running..

Im not sure about the technical side of things but a quick tip to make these sites work is goto the catch-up tv website then click in the top menu and mark the request desktop site button. Then your android will load the normal webpage rather than a mobile version.

It looks like your device does not support flash player yet, you can try installing mx player app for android and see if that helps.

Thanks 01tv, ben10 and delbutty for your replies, they are all well appreciated.
    My device is a Minix Neo G4 running 4.1.1.
    I installed Firefox and Flash yesterday while trying to sort this out. It resulted in access to some of the sites, but not all, so I suspect 01tv's comments to be spot-on.
    I'm pretty sure I have mx-player loaded and it didn't help, but will double check that and report back.