PDA

View Full Version : Whats better Apple TV jailbroken or Gogglebox TV?



Sidsnot
04-29-2013, 06:47 AM
So my friend has a jailbroken Apple TV and its awesome man. Will an android box be as good, better or worse in any way?

Thanks

admin
04-29-2013, 06:54 AM
Apple TV is great hardware but the problem is that Apple lock it down so nobody can use it apart from via itunes. It is this 'closed ecosystem', that forces users through the iTunes Store and paying for everything, and forget using ipad and mac apps!

This means you need to jailbreak the device to make it any good. This can take some time as different hardware and os versions can be better protected. After jailbreaking the Apple is great and runs XBMC smoothly. The android devices are much less restricted though, cheaper and do a better job imo. The other problem with jailbroken Apple TV's is that they are always trying to update the software and if you accidentally forget to click the 'no' option, then your device goes back to being locked!

django
04-29-2013, 07:24 AM
I hate Apple so im obviously going to sway toward android. But the TV boxes have there problems as well. For a start the games you download are all designed for tablets so need a touchscreen and finger which are not available on a tv set. So games like angry birds are pretty much unplayable. Android plays movies in a much better way and is not restricted to paid titles from itunes. How can anyone buy an Apple TV when it wont let you play your ripped DVDs without jumping through hoops and jailbreaking etc.

In summary, the Apple TV is slick but unless you buy movies etc, there is not much to do unless your happy with youtube and netflix only. Android has millions of apps, free movies, shows and music plus free apps using aptoide. My vote is android.

boombox
04-29-2013, 09:29 AM
I have an Apple TV v.2 and hardly ever use it. I cannot get it jailbroken even though i follow all the guides on the net. Unless you have itunes full of movies it is useless

imikanwar
11-20-2013, 05:05 AM
I think you need to use an external device that has a touchscreen, there are the chinese mouse/keyboard remotes and of course droidmote and im sure you can plugin an xbox controller but that doesnt replicate a touchscreen.


______________________
http://www.warwick.ac.uk/
http://www.accaglobal.com/
http://www.u-tokyo.ac.jp/en/
http://www.mybraindumps.net/JN0-643.html
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ICDL
https://www.facebook.com/Cisco
http://www.youtube.com/user/AIIMvideo